Tuesday 23 June, 2020 at 7pm-8pm (please join any time from 6.30pm)






Peter Holding
[email protected]

The Eden-Monaro by-election is scheduled for Saturday 4 July. There are 14 confirmed candidates.

Large areas of the Eden-Monaro electorate were significantly impacted by bushfires over the ‘Black Summer’ of 2019/20. The fires, and the prolonged drought which preceded them, were exacerbated by global warming.

Globally, 18 of the hottest years have occurred in the last 20 years.  We are now 1.1°C about pre-industrial average temperatures, on an almost certain pathway to 2°C, and very likely 3°C, if current carbon emissions are not significantly reduced.

Australia and the rest of the world need to accelerate and expand current climate mitigation and adaptation programs. This will require massive governmental, business and citizen effort.

Climate Action Monaro and Farmers for Climate Action are pleased to host the Member for Warringah, Zali Steggall OAM MP in a webinar about elevating climate action on the political agenda. She will include an update on the current status of her own #ClimateActNow Bill.

We warmly invite you to join us for this discussion.

Please note, by completing the RSVP form you are signing up to the Farmers for Climate Action mailing list. If you do not wish to join the Farmers for Climate Action mailing list, copy the zoom link to use at the time of the event. Questions can be asked at www.sli.do using #Zali.


Zali Steggall OAM, Member for Warringah

Zali Steggall OAM is the Independent Federal Member for the seat of Warringah in Sydney’s North.

She is also Australia’s most successful alpine skier, winning a bronze medal in slalom at the 1998 Winter Olympics in Nagano, and a World Championship gold medal in 1999.

From 2008, Zali was a practising Barrister, specialising in commercial law, sports law and family law. In 2019, Zali contested the Federal Parliamentary Seat of Warringah as an Independent Candidate. The seat had been held for nearly 25 years by former Prime Minister The Hon. Tony Abbott. On 18 May, Zali won the seat with a two candidate preferred vote of 57.24%.

Watch the recording

Print Friendly, PDF & Email